Tags

, , , , , , ,

Keeping Her by Cora Carmack

3/5

Garrick Taylor and Bliss Edwards managed to find their happily-ever-after despite a rather . . . ahem . . . complicated start. By comparison, meeting the parents should be an absolute breeze, right?

But from the moment the pair lands in London, new snags just keep cropping up: a disapproving mother-in-law-to-be, more than one (mostly) minor mishap, and the realization that perhaps they aren’t quite as ready for their future as they thought.

As it turns out, the only thing harder than finding love is keeping it.

Keeping Her is a novella sequel to Losing It. I wouldn’t usually review a sequel without reviewing the first book, but this was given to me by NetGalley.

For those of you who haven’t read the first book I would definitely recommend it. It about a girl who decides to get losing her virginity out of the way by having a one night stand. After finding who she believes to be the perfect candidate, she goes home with him and subsequently freaks out, makes a terrible excuse and leaves. As if that wasn’t horrifying enough, she goes to her first day of college and to her embarrassment finds that the guy she almost had sex with is he professor. My description may leave a lot to be desired, but it actually was good.

Now onto the novella: I really loved Garrick and Bliss and was very eager to read a bit more about them. This novella didn’t disappoint. It was a very cute, quick read.

I have seen quite a few people complaining about Bliss and her endless doubts and insecurities. I can understand what they are saying and it does get slightly annoying, but in my opinion it almost serves to make Garrick even sweeter. He is so lovely to her in a way that makes you crinkle your toes (it can’t be only me that does that in overly adorable moments?).

I have to admit that when I finished it I thought about everything that happened in it and realised that nothing had really changed at all. I don’t want to say too much about what happened because it was so short and the plot line wasn’t very extensive and I don’t want to ruin it. What I am trying to say is that plot wise there isn’t that much going on, but if you love the couple read it.

