Tags

, , , ,

Where My Heart Breaks by Ivy Sinclair

3/5

If there were a course in screwing up your life, Kate Spivey would get an A+.

Trust is in short supply for Kate at the start of the summer before her senior year of college. Her parents sentenced her to spend it under the watchful eye of her aunt at the famous Willoughby Inn. It was further proof that she was a prisoner in, and not the decision maker of, her life. Nothing she does is good enough to prove that she learned from the mistakes of her past.

Almost immediately, Kate finds that her new summer home holds another person who understands the unfairness of her situation better than most. Reed Black has had his own share of tragedy and regrets, but instead of trying to fight his reputation, he embraced it.

Sparks fly between Kate and Reed, but his mixed signals remind Kate that she needs to watch her step. He is one temptation she can’t afford to indulge in, no matter how strong her attraction to him. If she isn’t careful, she’ll lose more than her heart.

When I began reading this book I could tell pretty early on that it could go one of two ways; it would annoy the heck out of me or I would really enjoy it. Only now, I can’t decide which way it went. Maybe both?

What I did like about this book, was the book inside the book. I like how it played quite a big role throughout the novel. The book was supposedly a popular romance novel called ‘Where My Heart Breaks’ set in Bleckerville (the town Kate is staying for the summer) and is referenced often during this book. Another thing I liked: there wasn’t heaps of info dumping. For example, Kate’s past. While you never get completely informed on what happened, you just get enough to give you the general idea. In my opinion, Sinclair did a really nice job of telling what you needed to know without telling you too much. She made it clear that while Kate’s past made her who she is, not all of the details of it are necessary to the story. In other words it was refreshing not to get a long and tiresome back story of the troubles of the damaged protagonist.

There a few things however that I wasn’t too fond of. I think some of these things may be a little unfair because they are more what I have come to dislike in novels in general than in this one. Alike most girls I must admit I do have a soft spot for a bad boy… But this whole idea that a guy can magically reform and become wonderful as soon as he meets a specific girl, seems slightly ridiculous to me. The switch around was much too sudden. In fact, we never even really saw this “player bad boy” side of Reed which was frequently discussed. I don’t believe for a second that changing a girl’s car tire is going to inspire dramatic change. Next I have to say that Reed will unfortunately not be joining my ever-growing list of book boyfriends. Even ignoring the whole player thing there wasn’t anything about him that made me swoon. To be honest, there was need for a bit more character development for most of the characters (including Reed).

Despite my negative comments, this was a pretty nice read. Admittedly, had this book not been given to me by NetGalley I wouldn’t have reviewed it as this book didn’t make enough of an impact on me (bad or good).

