Tags

, , , , ,

Dusty by YellowBella

*5/5*

Now published as Innocents

She loves him. He loves her crazy. She’s a hopeless romantic. He’s just hopeless. She’s afraid to let go. He won’t let her. A story about a silly girl in love with a foolish boy. Here, forever is a lie. 

TeamBella23 – the realist and YellowGlue – the poet

Isabella Bliss Swan and Anthony Edward Cullen. Bliss and Dusty.

This isn’t the story of a girl who saves a boy. Oh no, no, no. This a heartbreaking story of a boy who is drowning in his addictions and drags his sister’s best friend with him. The story of love between two kids that becomes a terrible secret. If you are looking for a happy tale of two sweet teenagers this isn’t it. This book is dark and realistic.

“She’s created a trio out of our duo, and I hate her. I hate her more than anything else. She’s the other girl, his bitch on the side … she’s the lipstick on his collar. And she makes him so fucking unpredictable.” Who’s the girl you ask? Not a girl: cocaine.

I am probably breaking some unspoken rule by reviewing a fanfic piece on here, but the fact that it is getting published later this year in my mind makes it acceptable. Yes this is a Twilight fanfic, and no I haven’t liked Twilight in years. I can assure you that this is far from being like Twilight. No vampires or anything else supernatural whatsoever.

If you crave flawless character development this one’s for you. I don’t think I have ever read a book with so much wonderful characterisation in it. But its perfect detail does come for what some may see as a price. It is freaking long! Really, really long!

Here’s the Goodreads description for what will be the published version “Innocents”:

Bliss knows all about bad choices but has yet to make them herself. With a heart as innocent as her yellow Popsicle, she searches for freedom and finds it in the delinquent down the hall.

Dusty is a foul-mouthed troublemaker, a tear-maker and heartbreaker. Summer sky-blue eyes know they should stay away, but he can’t resist the girl who made his house a home.

She’s his reason, but he might not catch her when she falls.

She loves him. He loves her crazy. 

This is what happens with a love full of secrets and no promises, only rules.

I am not sure how much (if at all) Dusty will be changed for the published version, so I can’t tell you if it is worth waiting to read it until it is released. I know that I will end up buying “Innocents” anyway because I want my hands on a physical copy of this. But here’s the link to the fanfic: Dusty

Expected Release Date of “Innocents”: 14th July (Dusty’s Birthday! Ha!)

